[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [BNW] Another stealth question



>     I just joined the list today, so Greetings!  

Welcome! Nice to see a new face ('course, my face is still sorta new too...)

>I've been volunteered to 
>run a BNW game, and I'm wondering if I can get some difficulties that have 
>arisen with the system, any rules that seem to be cumbersome, or 
>contradictory, any power packages that are troublesome, etc.

Well, like I've said in posts before, the most difficult part was
explaining to people that we were not playing Champions.  I don't know if
you've ever played that, but it is a point system where you can detail
virtually everything about your character.  Nice, flexible, but
number-hungry.  BNW is streamlined, efficient, and to me - story driven
rather than rules driven.  That is a major plus for the way I run games.
Hmmm, power packages that are troublesome... I personally told everyone to
avoid the Goliath, Bargainer, and (religious package I can't think the name
of).  Not because I didn't *like* them, but mainly 'cause I wanted the
first run to have 'basic' characters.  I ended up with a Tough, Sneak,
Gunner, and Bouncer.  None have given me issues as yet...

>     I also wonder if any one can explain why it was created based around 6 
>siders, since they render 7 a useless target number?

Granted, but what does that signify? I use 5, 8, 10, 12, etc as target
numbers.  I've never mourned the loss of a 7 as a target number. =)

>     I've also got a question about the multiple successes mechanic: If I 
>roll 5d6, vs a target number of 10, and come up with, say three sixes, which 
>are then re-rolled and result in three more sixes, then come out to a 2, a 3 
>and a 4, for results of 14, 15, and 16, I go with the 16 as a final score 
>(which, if I understand correctly, would mean that only two successes were 
>rolled)?

Yes, your total is 16.  Whether you have two successes or not is dependent
on the original target number.  If it is a 5, you have 3 successes.  If
your TN is a 10, you have 2 successes, etc.

>      What if a big thug has a strength of 5d6 + 5?  If the target number is 
>a 10, he only needs a 5 to succeed, right?  And then only a 10 to have an 
>extra success?

Yes, and yes.




DeadTim
"The only good Tim, is a DeadTim."